Presidential Election Results

Presidential Election Results

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has entered the final stage of the collation and announcement of the results of the presidential election in Nigeria. The election was held across the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) on Saturday, with a total of 18 presidential candidates contesting. However, the election was postponed until Sunday in some polling units in different states due to violence, logistical problems, theft of BVAS, and other issues.

Similar Posts:

Despite the challenges, the election has been largely concluded across the country, with some states having already finished collating the results at the ward, local government, and state levels. INEC collation officers across the states are expected to present their final tallies at the National Collation Centre in Abuja from 6 p.m. on Sunday, with state collation officers taking turns to present their results.

The INEC chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, who presides over the proceedings at the National Collation Centre, is the Chief Returning Officer of the presidential election. He will make the announcement of the final results and declare the winner of the election after taking the results of the elections from the polling units across the country.

This year’s general election is the seventh since the restoration of democracy in the country, with previous elections held in 1999, 2003, 2007, 2011, 2015, and 2019. Described as the most keenly contested poll in Nigeria’s contemporary political history, this year’s ballots had 18 registered parties to be voted for, with four major contenders: Atiku Abubakar of PDP, Bola Tinubu of APC, Peter Obi of the Labour Party, and Rabiu Kwankwaso of NNPP.

To be declared the winner, a candidate must score the highest number of votes and at least 25% of votes in 25 states (two-thirds of Nigeria’s 36 states and the federal capital, Abuja). Despite the delays and challenges, many Nigerians are eagerly awaiting the outcome of the election, which will determine the country’s political direction for the next four years.

Presidential Election Results

Note to Phone users: for better viewing with a phone, swipe left to see all the details in the table below:

State APC PDP LP NNPP Comment
Akwa Ibom          
Bauchi 146,977 319,123 26,160    
Cross River          
Ekiti 201,494 89,554 11,397    
Enugu 4,772 15,749 428,640    
Gombe 146,977 319,123 26,160 10,520  
Jigawa 412,390 386,587 1,889 98,234  
Kano 773,528 143,213   1,179,889  
Katsina 482,283 489,045 6,376 69,386  
Kwara 263,572 136,909 31,166 3,141  
Lagos 572,606 75,750 582,664    
Nasarawa 172,922 147,093      
Niger 375,183 284,898 80,452 21,836  
Ogun 341,554 123,831 85,829 2,200  
Ondo 369,924 115,463 44,405 930  
Osun 343,945 354,366 23,283 713  
Oyo 449,884 182,977 99,110 4,095  
Rivers 116,003 59,415 86,524 622 Results from 17 LGAs
Sokoto 101,608 98,080   314 Results from 13 LGAs
Yobe 151,459 198,567 2,406 18,270  
TOTAL RESULT 5,427,081 3,539,743 1,536,461 1,410,150  

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.